New 2019 Dow Master’s Fellows

Elizabeth LaPorte, Program Manager
Release Date: 


Recently, 34 exceptional graduate students from 10 University of Michigan (U-M) schools and colleges were named Dow Sustainability Master’s Fellows. Each new Master’s Fellow will receive $20,000 for their studies and become part of a community of sustainability scholars and fellows. Dow Master’s Fellows are selected from a distinguished group of graduate students, with each U-M school nominating up to 10 candidates.

Dow Sustainability Fellows Master's Cohort

2018 Dow Masters Fellows Team Celebrates Success. From left, Kiddus Admassu, Gwen Gell, Shannon Sylte, April Kwon, and Ayush Awadhiya

“We are excited to welcome this diverse cohort of fellows,” stated Professor Margaret Wooldridge, Director of the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program. “We look forward to a year of opportunities designed to foster collaboration within and outside U-M, build leadership skills, and to advance local and global sustainable solutions.”

Each Master’s Fellow will complete an interdisciplinary project focused on developing practical sustainability solutions in the real world. Teams of fellows will interact with clients, communities, and a variety of project consultants, including U-M faculty and Dow Doctoral Fellows. This seventh cohort of U-M Dow Sustainability Master’s Fellows will participate in the program from January to December 2019. Dow Sustainability Fellows focus on interdisciplinary approaches to sustainability challenges related to cities, climate, energy, food, health, human behavior, transportation, water, and more.

The 2019 Master’s Fellows and their nominating schools are listed below (bold). Among this cohort, are a number of dual majors, indicated in parentheses:

College of Engineering: Claire Dodinval (Env. & Sustainability); Genevieve Sertic; Kanchan Swaroop (Env. & Sustainability); and Maxwell Woody (Env. & Sustainability)

Ross School of Business: Chantelle Barretto (Env. & Sustainability); Kevin Bosma; (Env. & Sustainability); Farhan Nuruzzaman; Mukul Sajnani; and Amanda Willis (Env. & Sustainability)

School of Dentistry: Lea Sarment

School for Environment and Sustainability: Clare Cutler; Zoe Fullem; Nicholas Kemp; Sacha-Rose Phillips (Public Policy); Harrison Rogers (Business); and Katharine Shiffler

School of Information: Youngsoo Choy (Business); and Olawunmi Oduyebo

Law: Brian Schaap; and McKenzie Southworth

School of Medicine: Katharine Asta (Public Health - Epidemiology); and Emily Johnson

School of Public Health: Candice Ammori; Savannah Boerger; Brooke Callaghan; Adriane Kline; and Dany Zemmel

Ford School of Public Policy: Alissa Graff (Information); Kseniya Husak; Marc Jaruzel; Christopher LeFlore (Urban & Regional Planning); and Guy Packard

Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning: Joshua Childs (Public Policy); and Kimberly Higgins

Made possible by The Dow Chemical Company Foundation, the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program at the University of Michigan supports full-time graduate students and scholars who are committed to finding interdisciplinary, actionable, and meaningful sustainability solutions on local-to-global scales. The program prepares future sustainability leaders to make a positive difference in organizations worldwide. We believe that diversity, equity, and inclusion are key to empowerment, and the advancement of sustainability knowledge, learning, and leadership. See the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program.