Who We Are

The UM Sustainable Food Program provides support to organizations on campus dedicated to building a sustainable food system. We currently connect about a dozen Member Groups, seven campus gardens, and the Campus Farm.

Group photo

Some of the ways we support sustainable food systems efforts include showcasing Member Groups and their work on this website and the UMSFP Newsletter, facilitating transparency when working on projects to increase collaboration and resource sharing, hosting regular meetings to cross-pollinate groups with new ideas and creativity, and ensuring stability by using the UMSFP to keep groups active and engaged especially as students and leaders graduate from the university.

Contact us at umsfp.comm@umich.edu or find UMSFP on Facebook.

    Leadership Team

    The UMSFP Leadership Team is made up of UM student volunteers and is responsible for writing weekly newsletters, organizing classroom collaborations, supporting student food activities, maintaining our website and working to build a more sustainable food system at UM and in the community. Contact the UMSFP Leadership Team at umsfp.core@umich.edu. If you are interested in joining the Leadership Team, check for our election information each winter semester.

    2019-2020 Leadership Team

    Morgan Anderson
    Program in the Environment (B.A. 2022)

    Morgan enjoys being outdoors, reading, traveling, and photography. She's also always down to watch a good documentary or try new food! She is interested in environmental law and policy, with a possible food minor or public policy minor. She is also in Women and Science and Engineering Residence Program (WISE-RP), where she mentors freshmen and plans events for the community.


    Courtney Bagnall
    Environmental Engineering and Program in the Environment (BSE 2021)

    Courtney is a junior studying Environmental Engineering and minoring in the Program in the Environment. She is involved in many sustainable organizations on campus such as Students for Clean Energy, the Sustainability Committee through the Engineering Student Government and Friends of the Campus Farm. Her favorite part about working at UMSFP has been helping to plan the annual harvest fest which is a showcase of all of our member groups located at the campus farm. In her free time, she enjoys playing Wallyball through the IM leagues, volunteering, and Zumba.


    Arynne Wegryn-Jones
    LSA: Microbiology and Food and the Environment Minor (B.S. 2021)

    Arynne is a junior studying Microbiology and minoring in Food and the Environment, with a special interest in food waste and compost awareness. Along with being Co-President for UMSFP, she is also a student manager at South Quad dining hall and a part-time dog mom. In her free time, she enjoys running, doing yoga, cooking vegan food, tending her succulents and playing with her dog.


    Emily VanHaistma
    Elementary Education (B.A. 2021)

    Emily is the current Co-President of UMSFP, and has been involved with the group for about two years. Emily is passionate about making our food systems more equitable and accessible for everyone. Outside of UMSFP she enjoys being outside, making kombucha, and working with kids!


    Braeden Fromwiller
    Program in the Environment (B.A. 2022)

    Braeden is a sophomore in the Program in the Environment who is hoping to double major in Economics or Communications and minor in Business. He is interested in Urban Planning and sustainable business. He is currently the director of member relations, and is involved in planning events like Rooting for Change and the upcoming Campus Farm stand. He is also involved in the Student Hunger Initiative, one of our member groups. In his free time he likes playing guitar, listening to music, cooking, and riding his motorcycle.


    Helen Rhines
    Program in the Environment and a minor in Food and the Environment (B.A. 2021)

    Helen is a junior studying PitE with an interest in food and environmental justice. Along with UMSFP, she is involved with the Campus Farm and is working as the Garden Manager at the UM  Biological Station this summer. Aside from growing food, Helen enjoys hiking, reading, and spending time in her hammock.


    Klea Gjonaj
    Interdisciplinary Chemical Science (B.S. 2021)

    Klea Gjonaj is currently a rising senior the college of LSA studying Interdisciplinary Chemical Science. She has been apart of the UMSFP for two years now, and it has been an amazing experience! Outside of being a sustainable foodie, she loves to spend her free time running, watching reality TV with her roommates, and drinking coffee.


    Lia Love 
    BCN (B.S. 2022)

    Lia is a sophomore from St. Augustine, FL. She is studying BCN with the goal of going to medical school. Her role in UMSFP is communications, including updating social media. She enjoys learning new ideas and perspectives through her coworkers. In her free time, she enjoys reading, going to the beach, hanging out with her mom or friends, and learning.


    Blake McWatters
    Program in the Environment and a minor in Ecology, Evolution, and Biodiversity (B.S. 2020)

    Blake is a current senior graduating this summer. He is the Campus Farm liaison to UMSFP and functions as a member of both teams. He is a sustainable farmer, working at the Campus Farm currently as well as various other farms over the years. Aside from sustainable agriculture, Blake loves mushroom foraging, backpacking, and making music.


    Alice Hanlon
    Program in the Environment and a minor in AfroAmerican and African Studies (B.A. 2020)

    Alice is a current senior who will be graduating this summer. She is currently working on a large research project for her senior thesis. Post-grad, Alice plans to take some time off before heading to grad school to study Public Health. In her spare time, Alice enjoys baking, rock climbing, sewing, and anything that happens outside.


    Advisory Board

    The UMSFP Advisory Board is a group made up of students, professionals, and educators. Their role is to offer advice and support to the leadership team and member groups. Our current Advisory Board is:

    Program Managers

    UMSFP Manager Alex Bryan is a U-M graduate and has served on several nonprofit boards including Michigan Food and Farming Systems (MIFFS) and the National Young Farmers Coalition (NYFC). His most recent work was with the Greater Lansing Food Bank, where he was the director of agricultural programs. In his role with the Food Bank, Alex was responsible for resources and support for over 130 gardens and 800 gardeners, as well as community development, business development, and leadership training. Previous experience also includes co-owning an urban farm in Detroit, being a volunteer coordinator, serving as a member of Americorps, and working in a Tapas restaurant focusing on fresh and seasonal foods.

    Campus Farm Manager Jeremy Moghtader received his M.S. in Resource Ecology and Management from U-M’s School for Environment and Sustainability in 2004 and his B.S. in Economics, also from U-M. He recently served as the Director of Programs at the Michigan State University Student Organic Farm, where he worked in varying capacities since 2004. Jeremy has also provided leadership over the past decade in a number of non-profit food systems including the Food System Partnership (FSEP), The Agrarian Adventure, Tilian Farm Development Center, the SEEDS Residency Farm (Traverse City), and Slow Food Huron Valley.