Dow Masters News Brief 2018

Elizabeth LaPorte
Release Date: 


solar bicycle cartRecently, 34 exceptional masters and professional-degree students from 10 University of Michigan (U-M) schools and colleges were named Dow Sustainability Fellows. Each new Fellow will receive $20,000 for their studies and become part of a diverse and collaborative community.

“We are thrilled to accept this new cohort of talented students,” stated Professor Margaret Wooldridge, Director of the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program. “We look forward to a year of opportunities designed to build leadership skills, foster new interdisciplinary collaborations and to advance sustainable solutions for diverse communities”

Dow Fellows focus on interdisciplinary approaches to a broad array of sustainability challenges related to water, energy, transportation, built environment, climate change, food, health, human behavior, and others. In addition to co-curricular activities and interactions with the Dow Doctoral and Postdoctoral Fellows, each Masters/Professional Fellow will complete an interdisciplinary team project focused on developing collaborative and practical sustainability solutions in the real world.

The 2018 Masters/Professional Fellows and their nominating colleges/schools are:

  • Ellen Abrams, Karen Goldburg, Christopher Owen, Benjamin Rego, Shannon Sylte, and Rebeca Villegas (School for Environment and Sustainability)
  • Kidus Admassu, Kevin Dunn, Krutarth Jhaveri, and Ernesto Martinez Paz (College of Engineering)
  • Joel Adu-Brimpong and Sae Bom Kwon (School of Information)
  • Ayush Awadhiya, Elana Fox, Mark Green, Michael Ilardi, and Monika, Johnson (Ross School of Business)
  • Samantha, Becker, Lauryn Lin, Melanie Meisenheimer, Melissa Robinson (School of Public Health)
  • Julia, Brennan and Rachel Gutfreund (School of Medicine)
  • Susannah Feinstein (School of Social Work)
  • Sharon Hu, Emily Futcher, Abigail Orrick, Emily Pfleiderer (Ford School of Public Policy)
  • Gwen Gell, Augusta Gudeman, Ben Stacey (Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning)
  • Julie Michalski, Randy Pummill, and Emily Van Dam, (Law School)

The fellows were selected from a distinguished group of graduate students, with each U-M school/college nominating up to 10 candidates. This sixth cohort of U-M Dow Sustainability Masters/Professional Fellows will participate in the program from January to December 2018.

Made possible by The Dow Chemical Company Foundation, the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program at the University of Michigan supports full-time graduate students and postdoctoral scholars who are committed to finding interdisciplinary, actionable, and meaningful sustainability solutions on local-to-global scales. The program prepares future sustainability leaders to make a positive difference in organizations worldwide. We believe that diversity, equity, and inclusion are key to empowerment, and the advancement of sustainability knowledge, learning, and leadership. See the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program.