39 Dow Sustainability Masters Fellows Announced for 2016

Elizabeth LaPorte
Release Date: 


Recently, 39 exceptional master’s and professional-degree students from 11 University of Michigan (U-M) schools and colleges were named Dow Sustainability Fellows. These graduate students each receive $20,000 for their studies and become part of a growing collaborative community of scholars focused on interdisciplinary approaches to a broad array of sustainability challenges related to water, energy, transportation, built environment, climate change, food, health, human behavior, and others. In addition to co-curricular activities and interactions with the Dow Sustainability Doctoral and Postdoctoral Fellows, they will also complete an interdisciplinary team project with real-world relevance.

“We’re thrilled to welcome such a diverse group of students into the Dow Sustainability Fellows program,” says Don Scavia, Special Counsel to the President, who administers the program on behalf of U-M. “The best ideas and solutions evolve from a range of views and approaches, and that’s what this interdisciplinary fellowship is all about.”

New fellows were selected from a distinguished group of nominees, with each U-M school/college nominating up to 10 candidates. This group marks the fourth cohort of Dow Sustainability Master’s/Professional Fellows at U-M, and they will participate in the program from January to December 2016. New fellows and their nominating schools are as follows:

  • College of Engineering: Robert Meyer, Michael Quan
  • Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy: Arman Golrokhian, Kenneth Fennell, Maureen Lackner, Diego Garcia Montufar, Benjamin Morse, Giorgi Tsimintia, Harry Wolberg
  • Law School: Seth Buchsbaum, Andrew Eberle, Brett Frazer, Sarah Ladin, Megan Schmenk
  • School of Dentistry: Shivani Kamodia
  • School of Medicine: Elizabeth Yates
  • School of Natural Resources and the Environment: Mary Jones, Lanfei Liu, Austin Martin, Sean Pavlik
  • School of Public Health: Bridget Henley, Mary-Catherine Goddard, Erika Shaver, Lee Taylor-Penn, Grace van Velden, Rebecca Weiland
  • School of Social Work: Heidi Marlena Hanlon, Selin Nurgun, Missy Orr
  • Stephen M. Ross School of Business: Michael Barg, Micaela Battiste, Kathleen Carroll, Emily Knoll, Carolina Fernandez Maestri, Taylor Markward, Denise Miller, Allyson Stewart
  • Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning: Anna Bengtson, Tzu-Hsiang Lin

Made possible by The Dow Chemical Company, the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program at the University of Michigan supports full-time graduate students and postdoctoral scholars at the university who are committed to finding interdisciplinary, actionable, and meaningful sustainability solutions on local-to-global scales. The program prepares future sustainability leaders to make a positive difference in organizations worldwide, see: www.sustainability.umich.edu.