2017 Dow Master's Fellows Announced

Nicole Berg
Release Date: 

Recently, 40 exceptional masters and professional-degree students from 12 University of Michigan (U-M) schools and colleges were named Dow Sustainability Fellows. Each new Fellow will receive $20,000 for their studies and become part of a growing collaborative community of scholars. Dow Fellows focus on interdisciplinary approaches to a broad array of sustainability challenges related to water, energy, transportation, built environment, climate change, food, health, human behavior, and others. In addition to co-curricular activities and interactions with the Dow Sustainability Doctoral and Postdoctoral Fellows, the Masters/Professional Fellows will complete an interdisciplinary team project focused on developing collaborative and practical sustainability solutions.

“We are thrilled to accept this new cohort of talented students into the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program,” stated Andy Hoffman, Chair of the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program and Ross School of Business Professor. “They represent the best of Michigan and we look forward to a year of activities and projects that will help them hone their skills and contribute to making the world a more sustainable place.” Fellows were selected from a distinguished group of graduate students, with each U-M school/college nominating up to 10 candidates. This is the fifth cohort of Dow Sustainability Masters/Professional Fellows at U-M, and they will participate in the program from January to December 2017. New Fellows and their nominating colleges/schools are:

  • Grace Rodriguez, Madeleine Wax, Omid Bahrami, Cailin Buchanan, Matt Irish, Ranya Ilayian, Benjamin Jeong (College of Engineering)
  • Sergio Calleja Blanco (School of Dentistry) ​​
  • Stephanie Dooper (School of Education) ​​
  • Anna Lenhart, Muhammad Yahya Javed Bajwa, John Kramer​, Jongeun You (Ford School of Public Policy)
  • Adam Osielski, Shay Longtain, Kyle Olsen​, Jonathan Bye (Law School) ​​
  • Laura Donahue, Kate Meixner (Medical School)
  • Cazzie Palacios Brown​, Caroline Hodge​, Melissa Morton, Robert Kraynak​, Christina Carlson​, Catalina Kaiyoorawongs​ (Ross School of Business) ​​
  • Sarah Swanz, Alfredo Novoa​, Corina Kesler (School of Information) ​​
  • Rachel Boswell​, Tyler Fitch, James Gawron, Matt Chambers​, Ansha Zaman (School of Natural Resources & Environment)
  • Mary Nagy, Natalie Manitius (School of Public Health)
  • Lauren Beriont, Katherine Proudman (School of Social Work)
  • Nancy Welsh, Jessica Wunsch, Erika Linenfelser​ (Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning)

Made possible by The Dow Chemical Company, the Dow Sustainability Fellows Program at the University of Michigan supports full-time graduate students and postdoctoral scholars at the university who are committed to finding interdisciplinary, actionable, and meaningful sustainability solutions on local-to-global scales. The program prepares future sustainability leaders to make a positive difference in organizations worldwide. We believe that diversity, equity, and inclusion are key to individual empowerment, and the advancement of sustainability knowledge, learning and leadership. See: Dow Sustainability Fellows Program